v i n n y k u m a r . c o m

beats, rhymes, and life…

Posts Tagged ‘Phonte

The Foreign Exchange – “Authenticity” (Cover + Tracklist)

with one comment

Here’s the artwork, tracklist and some info about the next project from Phonte and Nicolay bka The Foreign Exchange.
1. The Last Fall
2. Authenticity
3. Eyes To The Sky
4. All Roads
5. Fight For Love
6. Maybe She’ll Dream Of Me
7. Don’t Wait feat. Darien Brockington
8. Make Me A Fool feat. Jesse Boykins III & Median
9. Everything Must Go
10. Laughing At Your Plans feat. Chantae Cann
11. This City Ain’t The Same Without You feat. YahZarah

“Authenticity” is the 3rd full-length from indie-soul duo The Foreign Exchange.

Picking up where their 2008 Grammy-nominated “Leave It All Behind” set left off, “Authenticity” is the group’s most diverse work to date, with a tight, 11-track song cycle spanning the duo’s trademark brand of lush electronic soul, to stripped down acoustic pieces that recall the heyday of 70′s singer-songwriter driven folk.

Lead single “Maybe She’ll Dream Of Me” is a playful, synth-driven hip-hop groove featuring a rapped verse from Phonte that evokes the band’s “Connected” era, while the epic opener “The Last Fall” finds some of the band’s most cynical lyrics to date (“Love is at worst an excuse/at best it’s a truce…”) over a frenzied Nicolay production jammed with layers of strings, guitars, and dense choral harmonies.

“I think every band reaches that point when they come into their own and find a sound that is distinctively theirs,” says Phonte in reference to the album’s title. “The title refers to me and Nic’s journey to find our own unique space within this vast musical landscape. The biggest challenge as a musician is to find that ‘thing’ that makes you who you are. But I think we’re getting there, and we’re finding our way more and more with each record.”

Featuring guest appearances from longtime contributors YahZarah, Darien Brockington, Zo! and Median, and also relative newcomers Chantae Cann and Jesse Boykins III, “Authenticity” hits stores 10/12 on +FE Music.

Authenticity is due out October 12th on +FE Music.

Written by Vinny Kumar

August 24, 2010 at 6:00 pm

YahZarah feat. Foreign Exchange – “Why Don’t You Call Me No More”

leave a comment »

Gotta show some home town love since I grew up in Richmond, VA. YahZarah is an R&B artist from the Virginia/D.C. area who is signed to underground hip hop group Foreign Exchange (Phonte of Little Brother + Nicolay). She started out as a back up singer for Erykah Badu and is currently touring with Foreign Exchange. Nicolay, Phonte, and Jesse Boykins III all make cameo appearances in this video off of YahZarah’s album The Ballad of Purple St. James. I think the song is pretty cool, but I like some of her other records more. Uh… the beginning is an ode to the cartoon Jem if you’re wondering what that is. Shout out to my friend Hannah Wagner for sending this over.

Written by Vinny Kumar

May 21, 2010 at 3:59 am